Savannah Hotels and Where to Stay
Choose the walk home first. Then add the taxes, valet and fees the search card left out.
Written by Alex H., Travel editor and researcherUpdated September 2026
Where you sleep decides what you walk back to. The north end favors River Street, City Market and the museums; the south end favors the squares and Forsyth Park. For a first trip, either beats a cheaper room that turns every meal into a drive.
Then price the stay honestly. Expect about 15% plus $5 a night in tax, and check for valet and amenity fees before falling in love with the headline rate.
Choose the walk home
| Area | What it puts you next to | The trade | Landmark hotels |
|---|---|---|---|
| Riverfront | River Street, the free ferry and the riverboat dock | You are a level below Bay Street; check the route from the room to the street, and expect nightlife and freight noise | JW Marriott Plant Riverside (west end); Kimpton Brice, 601 E. Bay St. (east end) |
| North Historic District | Broughton Street shops, City Market, the Telfair museums, a short walk down to the river | The busiest streets on event nights; valet versus a city garage decides the parking bill | The Marshall House, 123 E. Broughton St. |
| Central Historic District | The Bull Street squares, the house museums, most restaurants on this site | A longer walk back from River Street; the most in-demand rooms | The DeSoto, 15 E. Liberty St.; Perry Lane Hotel, 256 E. Perry St. |
| Forsyth Park edge | The park, the southern squares, the Victorian District | Farthest from the river; the best base for a slower, quieter trip | Hotel Bardo, 700 Drayton St. |
| Tybee Island | The beach, about 17.5 road miles from downtown | Every downtown plan becomes a US-80 drive; right for a beach trip, wrong for a city one | Hotel Tybee, 1401 Strand Ave. |
| Airport and highway exits | Early flights and road trips | Daily downtown parking, ride costs and nothing to walk to | Chain hotels; not covered here |
North or south?
North is livelier and closer to the river; south is calmer and closer to Forsyth. Map the return from your likely dinner or evening tour. If that walk works for your group, the location works. Also check the actual address. Booking sites use “downtown” with impressive elasticity.
What the room really costs
The room bill carries about 15% plus $5 per night before the hotel adds anything of its own. These are the properties' published charges, checked September 1, 2026:
| Hotel | Area | Parking | Amenity fee | Pets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District 400 W. River St. | Riverfront, west end | Valet $55 per day | None stated | Not stated |
| The Marshall House 123 E. Broughton St. | North Historic District | Valet $43 per day ($60 oversized) | $40 amenity fee per night | No pets |
| The DeSoto 15 E. Liberty St. | Central Historic District | Valet only, $53 per night | None stated | One dog to 35 lb, $150 cleaning fee |
| Perry Lane Hotel 256 E. Perry St. | Central Historic District | Valet $60 per night plus tax | $32 plus tax per night | $200 |
| Hotel Bardo Savannah 700 Drayton St. | Forsyth Park edge | Valet $60 per night | $49 plus tax per night | $200 per stay |
| Hotel Tybee 1401 Strand Ave., Tybee Island | Tybee Island | Included in a $40 per day parking-and-amenity fee | See parking | $50 per day per pet |
A $250 room with $53 valet lands around $345 after tax. Add a $49 amenity fee and pricier valet, and it approaches $400. Over three nights, that gap matters more than a free welcome drink.
Valet or garage?
If the hotel allows it, a city garage is usually cheaper. Valet earns its premium when you need repeated in-and-out access.
| Garage | Address | Rate |
|---|---|---|
| Bryan Street | 100 E. Bryan St. | $2 per hour, $20 daily maximum; $2 flat Mon–Thu nights; $5 flat Friday night and weekends |
| State Street | 100 E. State St. | Same as Bryan Street |
| Robinson | 132 Montgomery St. | Same as Bryan Street |
| Liberty Street | 301 W. Liberty St. | $1 per hour, $14 daily maximum; $5 flat nights and weekends |
| Whitaker Street | 7 Whitaker St. | $2 per hour, $24 daily maximum; $10 flat Friday night and weekends |
The parking guide has the full system. Better still, skip the car for a district trip and use the free DOT and ferry; rent only for a day out.
Three weeks that punish procrastination
Book early around March 17, the Savannah Music Festival and SCAD's late-October film festival. Those periods bring higher rates, minimum stays and stricter cancellation rules.
River view is not river access
River Street sits below Bay Street, and historic properties may join buildings at different levels. Ask for the exact route from room to sidewalk, not merely whether an elevator exists.
The historic-inn spreadsheet you actually need
Savannah's labels are less useful than the policies. None of these inns publishes a stable nightly rate, so compare what their sites do state: breakfast, parking, fees, stairs, pets and minimum age.
| Inn | Where and when built | Rooms | Breakfast | Parking | Minimum age | Fees, stairs and pets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kehoe House | 123 E. Habersham St., Columbia Square; finished 1892 | 13 | Chef-prepared, in the courtyard 7:30–10 | Private lot a three-minute walk away, in the fee | 21 | $45 amenity fee; elevator; wine 5–7 |
| The Gastonian | 220 E. Gaston St., two 1868 houses two blocks from Forsyth Park | 17 | 7:30–10 at a private table or under the pergola | On-site lot plus one a block away, first come | 21 | $45 amenity fee; no elevator; wine 5–6:30 |
| Foley House Inn | 14 W. Hull St., Chippewa Square; late 1800s | 19 | Included; one page says continental, another a choice of two entrées | Not stated | Adults | Stairs only; dogs $85 first, $50 second |
| Catherine Ward House Inn | 118 E. Waldburg St., east of Forsyth Park; 1886 | 9 | Plated chef's choice at 8:30 and 9:30 | Free on the street; free off-street permit | 14 | Double occupancy only |
| McMillan Inn | 304 E. Huntingdon St., two blocks from Forsyth Park; 1888 | 12 plus a carriage house | Plated, one seating at 9:15, or boxed to go | Free on the street; no meters | 15 | Garden-level rooms without stairs; dipping pool |
| Eliza Thompson House | 5 W. Jones St.; 1847 | 25 in two buildings | 8–10, in the fee | No lot; city visitor pass $20 for 24 hours or $30 for 48 | 21 | $40 amenity fee; no elevator; wine 5–6:30, desserts 8–10 |
| East Bay Inn | 225 E. Bay St.; an 1852 cotton warehouse | 28 | Not published | Free on site | Children welcome | $40 amenity fee; elevator; dogs $100 a stay |
| Olde Harbour Inn | 508 E. Factors Walk, River Street; rebuilt in brick 1892 | 24 suites | Not published; wine 5:30–7 and ice cream to the room | Factors Walk lot, in the fee | 21 to check in; children welcome | $40 parking-and-amenity fee; no elevator; pets $75 |
| The Marshall House (hotel) | 123 E. Broughton St.; 1851 | 65 plus 3 suites | At 45 Bistro 7–10, in the fee | Valet $43; oversized $60 | 21 to book; under 13 stay free | $40 plus tax amenity fee; elevator; no pets |
| Hamilton-Turner Inn | 330 Abercorn St., Lafayette Square; 1873 | 17 plus a three-room carriage house | Chef-prepared Southern breakfast in the dining room | On the street along Charlton and Macon streets | 10 | Dogs in four garden rooms, $75 |
| Azalea Inn | 217 E. Huntingdon St.; 1889 | 10 | Full, at reserved times in the dining room | Not published | 14 | No elevator; unheated pool; no pets |
| Green Palm Inn | 548 E. President St., Greene Square; 1897 | 4 | Chef's choice 8:30–9:30; coffee from 8 | Two free spaces at the rear, first come | No children | Two-night minimum on weekends and holidays |
| Forsyth Park Inn | 102 W. Hall St., facing Forsyth Park; about 1893 | 12 | Full | Free on the street; sweeping Tuesday and Wednesday | 12 | No pets |
| Printmaker's Inn | 303 W. Gwinnett St., south of Forsyth Park | 9 suites, 6 open at this check | None served; a 25% discount at a nearby coffee bar | Free on site with four EV spots | Adults only in one of the two houses | Check-out 10:30 |
| 17Hundred90 Inn | 307 E. President St.; 1821–23 and 1888 | About 24 | Not published | Rear lot $15 a day | Not published | At least one stair to every room; no pets |
| The Douglas (formerly Ballastone Inn) | 14 E. Oglethorpe Ave.; 1853, reopened 2025 | 16 open | À la carte 7–11, complimentary | Valet; price not published | 21 | Elevator; canapés 4–7; no pets |
| Bellwether House | 211 E. Gaston St. | 16 | Continental, in the fee | Self-park a block behind, in the fee | 18 | $35 plus tax destination fee; dogs under 40 lb $125 a night |
Every row is from the inn's own site, checked September 1, 2026; construction years are the inns' own accounts. Three inns on directory lists (Zeigler House Inn, Dresser Palmer House, Presidents' Quarters Inn) are left out because their sites were unreachable.
The patterns are simple. A fee may bundle breakfast, wine or parking; “no fee” may mean street parking. Only four properties state an elevator, and minimum ages run from none to 21. Read across the row that affects your group instead of chasing a universal winner.
What the booking screen won't tell you
Book the crush weeks early
March 17, the Savannah Music Festival and the late-October film festival fill rooms and trigger minimum stays.
Skip the car if you can
Walk, use the free DOT and rent only for the coast or an outlying site. Valet buys in-and-out access; a garage does not.
Add the invisible nightly rate
Budget about 15% plus $5 in tax, then parking and any amenity fee. Compare that total, not the search-card price.
Ask about the whole route
An elevator does not guarantee a step-free trip through a joined historic building or down to River Street.
Read age and pet rules
Historic inns vary wildly: some welcome children and dogs; others set minimum ages up to 21 and charge substantial pet fees.
Street parking has chores
Several inns rely on free curb parking. Ask about sweeping days, permits and where you will put the car when the block fills.
Short answers before you book
What is the best area to stay in Savannah?
The Historic District for a first visit. Stay north for the river and museums, or south for the squares and Forsyth Park.
How much are hotel taxes and fees?
Expect about 15% plus $5 a night in tax. Published valet runs $43 to $60, and some hotels add a $32 to $49 nightly amenity fee.
Are bed and breakfasts cheaper than hotels?
Not necessarily. Compare the final rate: an inn fee may include breakfast and parking, while a hotel can add valet and an amenity fee.
What is the best hotel in Savannah?
I do not rank hotels I have not stayed in. This page compares location and published costs so you can make a defensible choice.
Should I stay on River Street?
Yes if the riverfront is the point and you accept noise plus the bluff between River and Bay streets. Ask about the exact route from room to street.
Should I stay near Forsyth Park?
Yes for a quieter, slower trip. You will be farther from the river and closer to the southern squares.
Should I use valet or a city garage?
A garage is usually cheaper; valet is easier if you drive in and out. For a district-only trip, skip the car altogether.
Which inns have an elevator?
Kehoe House, East Bay Inn, the Marshall House and the Douglas state one. Still ask about the full route to the room and street.
Which inns take children?
East Bay, Olde Harbour, the Marshall House and part of Printmaker's welcome children; several others set minimum ages from 10 to 21. Check the table and confirm before booking.
When are hotels busiest?
Around March 17, during the Savannah Music Festival and around the late-October film festival. Expect higher rates and minimum stays.
What is the difference between a B&B and an inn?
Savannah uses room count: two to five rooms is a bed and breakfast; six to fifteen is an inn. The same lodging taxes apply.
Is Tybee a good base for a Savannah trip?
Only for a beach-first trip. For a city trip, stay in the Historic District and make Tybee a day out.
My hotel-location test
Map the walk back from the dinner or evening tour you are most likely to book. If that return works for your group, the location works. Then add the tax, the parking and the amenity fee before you compare rates.
Tours that start inside the district
All three meet inside the Historic District or on the riverfront. Check the meeting point against the hotel address before booking.
- Check availability →
Old Town Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
★ 4.7 (1,872 reviews) · 1 day · from $46
With a central hotel, the hop-on stops are the easiest way to get around on day one.
See the catalog breakdown - Check availability →
Historic District Foodie Walking Tour
★ 4.8 (632 reviews) · 3 hours · from $97
A walking food tour that starts and ends within the district.
See the catalog breakdown - Check availability →
Riverboat Cruise & City Tour Combo
★ 4.4 (586 reviews) · 3 hours · from $81
Joins a riverboat cruise and a city tour in one reservation from the downtown waterfront.
See the catalog breakdown
Catalog prices and ratings can move. Checkout shows the final terms. These links may earn the site a commission at no extra cost to you.
Primary sources
Checked September 1, 2026. Schedules, fees and policies can change, so recheck a linked source when the detail will affect your visit.
- City of Savannah parking garages — rate table and special-event rate
- City of Savannah: local and state taxes — 8% hotel/motel tax
- City of Savannah: short-term vacation rental regulations — homestay, bed and breakfast and inn definitions
- City of Savannah: zoning information sheet, Inn (PDF) — fifteen-bedroom definition
- Kehoe House: FAQ — fee, breakfast, parking, age
- The Gastonian: FAQ — fee, parking, age
- Foley House Inn — rooms, stairs, pets
- Catherine Ward House Inn: FAQs — seatings, parking, age
- McMillan Inn: policies — breakfast, parking, age
- Eliza Thompson House: FAQ — fee, visitor pass, age
- East Bay Inn: FAQ — fee, free parking, children
- Olde Harbour Inn: FAQ — fee, age, reception
- The Marshall House: FAQ — fee, valet, age
- Hamilton-Turner Inn — rooms, parking, age, pets
- Azalea Inn — rooms, breakfast, age
- Green Palm Inn: policies — parking, minimum stay
- Forsyth Park Inn — rooms, breakfast, parking, age
- Printmaker's Inn — suites, parking, no breakfast
- 17Hundred90 Inn: our inn — rooms, lot fee, stairs
- The Douglas: FAQ — breakfast, valet, age
- Bellwether House — fee, parking, age
- Georgia Department of Revenue sales tax rate charts — Chatham County 7%
- Georgia Department of Revenue: state hotel-motel fee — $5 per night
- National Park Service: Savannah Historic District record — district boundaries
- Savannah's Waterfront: getting here — bluff, ramps and elevators
- Plant Riverside District hotels and FAQ — valet fee; public garage
- The Marshall House FAQ — parking and amenity fee
- The DeSoto FAQ — valet-only parking
- Perry Lane Hotel FAQ — valet and destination amenity fee
- Hotel Bardo Savannah FAQ — valet and destination amenity fee
- Hotel Tybee FAQ — parking-and-amenity fee
- Savannah Music Festival — April 2–17, 2027
- Savannah Saint Patrick's Day Parade Committee — parade held March 17
- Chatham Area Transit: DOT shuttle — free downtown shuttle
- Savannah/Hilton Head International ground transportation — airport area
Test the walk home
Use the district guide to test the neighborhood, the river guide to understand the bluff, and the trip planner for the airport transfer.
Disclosure: booking links go to GetYourGuide and may earn this site a commission at no extra cost to you. Commission never changes the rankings; see how Alex chooses.